Logo der Universität Wien

Isotope Research and Nuclear Physics

The Isotope Research and Nuclear Physics Group operates the Vienna Environmental Research Accelerator (VERA), a state-of-the-art facility for Accelerator Mass Spectrometry (AMS). Research projects focus on the exploration of our world by means of the "isotope language", utilizing both natural and anthropogenic long-lived radioisotopes. We pursue fundamental physics experiments and a large variety of interdisciplinary research programs. Research at VERA contributes to the faculty research area "Physics and the Environment". Further contributions to this research area are projects dealing with radioactivity from natural sources. Nuclear reaction studies are performed in international collaboration at research centers like CERN in Geneva, Switzerland or the Institute for Reference Materials and Measurements of the European Commission in Geel, Belgium

A good balance between technical developments and challenging applications is vital. The applications touch almost every issue of our environment at large, from archaeology to climate research.  A main focus of research at the VERA laboratory is the prominent application of AMS in 14C dating. The group is constantly striving for development to push the limits of the AMS 14C method, e.g., of accuracy, reliability and sample size. Further the group participated in several notable multidisciplinary projects, which demonstrates the position of the laboratory as one of the internationally leading 14C laboratories. Besides AMS 14C dating, special emphasis is put on AMS applications within physics, i.e. Astrophysics, Nuclear Physics, and Atomic and Molecular Physics. Further emphasis is on the detection of the heaviest radioisotopes (236U, 244Pu). We strive to establish conditions which enable AMS of radioisotopes over the whole nuclear chart.

The radioactive noble gas radon, which contributes most to the radiation dose from natural sources, is subject of Austrian Government and European Commission research projects we contribute to.

Studies of neutron induced nuclear reactions performed in international collaborations are relevant for the understanding of astrophysical processes as well as for nuclear energy applications. The experimental methods employed and AMS complement each other in many cases.

Group members give lectures on topics related to our research fields and contribute also to general physics courses of the Faculty of Physics. Each semester two laboratory courses are offered to physics students.

Guest from various research institutes in Austria and abroad as well as group members give talks on their research in the VERA Seminar.

University of Vienna
Isotope Research and Nuclear Physics

Währinger Str. 17
1090 Wien

T: +43-1-4277-517 01
F: +43-1-4277-9517
University of Vienna | Universitätsring 1 | 1010 Vienna | T +43-1-4277-0

Logo der Universität Wien

Isotopenforschung und Kernphysik

Die Gruppe Isotopenforschung und Kernphysik betreibt den Teilchenbeschleuniger "VERA" (Vienna Environmental Research Accelerator), eine moderne Anlage für Beschleuniger-Massenspektrometrie (Accelerator Mass Spectrometry, AMS). Im Mittelpunkt der Forschungsprojekte steht die Untersuchung unserer Welt mittels der "Isotopensprache", wobei langlebige Radioisotope sowohl natürlichen als auch anthropogenen Ursprungs verwendet werden. Wir führen grundlegende Physikexperimente ebenso durch wie eine Vielzahl interdisziplinärer Forschungsprogramme. Forschung an VERA trägt zum Fakultätsschwerpunkt "Physik und Umwelt" bei. Ein weiterer Beitrag zu diesem Schwerpunkt sind Forschungsprogramme zur natürlichen Radioaktivität. Untersuchungen von Kernreaktionen werden in internationaler Zusammenarbeit an Forschungszentren wie dem CERN in Genf (Schweiz) oder dem Institut für Referenzmaterialien und Referenzmessungen der Europäischen Kommission in Geel, Belgien, durchgeführt.

Ausgewogenheit zwischen technischen Entwicklungen und anspruchsvollen Anwendungen ist bei VERA sehr wichtig. Die Anwendungen reichen in viele Bereiche unserer Umwelt, von der Archäologie zur Klimaforschung. Ein Schwerpunkt der Forschung am VERA-Laboratorium ist die wichtige AMS-Anwendung Datierung mit Hilfe des Kohlenstoffisotops 14C. Ein Ziel unserer technischen Entwicklungen ist die Erweiterung der Grenzen der AMS Datierungsmethode, z.B. der Genauigkeit, Zuverlässigkeit und Probengröße. Die Beteiligung an mehreren international beachteten interdisziplinären Projekten zeigt, dass das VERA-Laboratorium zu den international führenden 14C Datierungslabors gezählt wird. Neben der 14C-Datierungsmethode wird besonderes Gewicht auf AMS-Anwendungen innerhalb der Physik gelegt, d.h. Astrophysik, Kernphysik, atomare und molekulare Physik. Ein weiterer Akzent liegt auf der Detektion der schwersten Radioisotope (236U, 244Pu). Wir arbeiten daran, Beschleuniger-Massenspektrometrie von Radioisotopen im gesamten Bereich der Nuklidkarte zu ermöglichen.

Das natürlich vorkommende radioaktive Edelgas Radon, das zum größten Teil zur Strahlenbelastung durch natürliche Radioaktivität beiträgt, ist Gegenstand von Österreichischen und Europäischen Forschungsprojekten, zu denen wir beitragen.

Die in internationaler Zusammenarbeit durchgeführten Untersuchungen von neutroneninduzierten Kernreaktionen sind vor allem für das Verständnis astrophysikalischer Prozesse sowie für energietechnische Anwendungen von Bedeutung. Die verwendeten Messmethoden sowie AMS ergänzen sich in vielen Fällen.

Mitglieder unserer Gruppe halten Vorlesungen aus den Gebieten der Isotopenforschung und Kernphysik und wirken auch in der allgemeinen Lehre der Fakultät für Physik mit. Jedes Semester bieten wir zwei Praktika an, in deren Rahmen auch Bachelorarbeiten durchgeführt werden können.

Im VERA Seminar berichten Gastvortragende aus dem In- und Ausland, sowie Gruppenmitglieder über ihre aktuellen Forschungsarbeiten.

Universität Wien
Isotopenforschung und Kernphysik

Währinger Str. 17
1090 Wien

T: +43-1-4277-517 01
F: +43-1-4277-9517
Universität Wien | Universitätsring 1 | 1010 Wien | T +43-1-4277-0